December 2015PalmerstonLife

Territory tourism celebrated at Brolgas

Pioneering tour operator, Geoff McGeary OAM, has been awarded the highest honour at the 2015 Brolga Northern Territory Tourism Awards in Alice Springs tonight.

Mr McGeary was awarded the Tourism Minister’s Perpetual Trophy for his years of commitment to growing tourism in the Territory.
Chief Minister and Tourism Minister Adam Giles said tonight’s award was deserving recognition of Mr McGeary’s dedication to selling and showcasing the Territory through his successful international touring company Australian Pacific Tours.
“Known for his sense of adventure, Mr McGeary conducted his first tour through the Northern Territory back in 1969. Since then he has gone on to grow a successful business and help put the Northern Territory on the international map as a holiday destination,” Mr Giles said.
Mr Giles said the Brolga Awards was Northern Territory tourism’s night of nights celebrating the industry and hardworking local tourism operators.
“There is no doubt we are home to world-class attractions, tours, experiences, food and culture, and the passion and excellence shown by operators this year has been outstanding,” he said.
“With our unique attractions and spectacular natural landmarks, a holiday in the Northern Territory really is a holiday like none other. The world is taking notice and we are seeing positive signs of more people choosing to visit the Northern Territory for a holiday.
“Our industry continues to set the bar high when it comes to delivering unbeatable tourism experiences full of fun and adventure.
“I congratulate all the entrants and winners for their efforts to develop new tourism products and further enhance already fantastic tourism experiences.”
The 29th Brolga Awards saw three individuals and 21 businesses recognised for their service to the tourism industry.

Some of the award night highlights included:

• Uluru Camel Tours picked up three awards including Best Tourist Attraction, Best Adventure Tourism and Best Tour and Transport Operators;
• Ecotourism operators Sea Darwin also picked up three awards including the Excellence in Food Tourism Award for their popular Sunset Fish ‘n’ Chips tour of Darwin Harbour;
• Darwin Holiday Apartments won the new category of Best Self-contained Accommodation; and
• The Tatts Finke Desert Race was a popular winner on the night taking out the award for Best Festival and Event for the 40th anniversary year of the race through Central Australia.

All business category winners of the 2015 Brolga Northern Territory Tourism Awards won a $10,000 digital marketing package with Tourism NT and will be entrants in the Qantas Australian Tourism Awards in Melbourne on 5th February 2016.